For those people just starting with their new, shiny TNG website, it is tempting to leap ahead and play with the family tree. And yes, this can be fun and challenging. But, to keep it satisfying, there are some do-this but please don’t do-that which will keep you from trouble. As a starter kit, please follow some simple guidelines.
DO change your temporary TNG log-in password. See: How to change your password when first starting.
DON’T Do That
DON’T delete the TNG Team as Administrators for your site. They are your support team. If something goes wrong, they may not be able to help you.
DON’T use the Table Creation function. Unless guided there by your TNG Team. It will wipe out all of your data tables, including all user information. Once the user information is wiped out, you and the TNG Team are locked out; no one can log in. The Table Creation function is reserved for dire situations, such as a GEDCOM import of rotten,corrupted family data and the whole file system needs to be cleaned and restarted. The TNG Team can get you going again after a Table Creation but you could lose some of your valuable research as a result.